Thread: Bayyery charging with supplied Traxxas wall wart charger

Battery charging with supplied Traxxas wall wart charger

I am new to RC and have just purchased a Traxxas Slash 4*4 truck. The first charger didn't seem to work. Traxxas replaced it (fine so far). The 2nd charger doesn't seem much better. Now, I know that I will buy a better charger soon (probably Hyperion 720i), BUT don't you think that the standard charger should work out of the box?

The first wall wart charger "seemed" to charge although the light on the charger went red initially and then went out completely on the first battery (I never saw it green) and never even came on for the 2nd battery with any color. Traxxas (when I called) replaced the charger. Tower Hobbies (when I called) replaced the 5000mah Duratrax battery as well. So far, so good. The first battery gave me about 10 minutes of run time. The supplied 3000mah gave me about 10 feet before stopping.

The second wall wart charger (from Traxxas) LED went red when the first battery was plugged in and "seemed" to charge. The second battery when plugged in showed no LED at all. The 3rd battery, the LED went red for about 1 minute and then went green.

Now, I really don't know whether these batteries are charged or not without plugging each battery in and trying the car. Lots of rain here for the last 2 days, so haven't tried it outside at all. BTW, when using either charger. none of the batteries get warm at all...just stone cold. It's my understanding that when charging these batteries that they should get warm. That was one of the tests that Traxxas asked me to do with the 2nd charger.

I know the answer is to get a charger that gives me feedback on the charge BUT I am really disappointed inh Traxxas. Their suggestion is to buy a better charger...BUT to me if they sell a charger with the car then it should work and NOT be flaky.

Anyone else out there had these types of problems?

Thanks,

Kevin