Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: RC Help

djdrew

RC Help

Hi,

I am looking at getting an electric rc car. I have not had one for about 20 years and the one I had you could walk behind. I am a complete beginner and no nothing much about them.

I have a few questions and was hoping you could help me.

1. What is a brushless engine?
    2. Do you need to do much to an electric car to use it? (does the motor need to be messed about with)
    3. I want a car that is pretty strong, i have been looking at the HPI Bullet monster truck and stadium truck. Which of these two would be stronger or are they just the same with a bit lower suspension.

Look forward to your comments

1) A brushless motor is "inside out" compared to your GWS motor. The windings are glued to the inside of the can, and the permanent magnets are bonded to the rotor. Since the wires don't move, you don't need brushes to transfer the electricity.

Take a look at the commutator on the GWS motor. It's cut into multiple sections. Depending on which two sections are in contact with the brushes at any given time, different sections of the windings are energized, creating the magnetic fields that push and/or pull against the fixed magnets in the can.

There are three wires coming from a brushless motor. Inside, all three wires are connected, and wound such that passing DC current through any two connections will create a magnetic field, making the rotor turn a partial revolution The computerized electronic speed control "commutates" a brushless motor by switching which two wires are being energized in a sequence.