Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rustler vxl and stampede 4x4 vxl

Rustler vxl and stampede 4x4 vxl

hello everyone ive been floating around the forum here for a couple of months now, and just about everything I ever needed to know was found and I thank everyone for all the useful information. But... haha you knew that was coming right lol. Here is my situation say around mid December I bought my first rusty vxl and it was great, and since ive bought myself a pede 4x4 vxl. Now what I'm trying to figure out is why does the pede seem to be much faster and more powerful than the rusty ? They are both totally stock except for a few rpm and alloy upgrades.(shock caps and such) Both same batteries out of the box and what not. Only major difference would be the rusty now has 2.8 desperado's with street fighter tires all around. Any Ideals ????

Well they have the same motors and ESC, therefore it would make sense that they would be roughly the same performance wise. I know the Stampede stock gearing is 11/54 while the Rustler is 25/83, so they have a completely different gearbox...I don't really know how this translates in comparison to one another, but apparently the Pede is geared out of the box for more speed than the Rusty. As for power, the 4x4 will get much more traction and is obviously designed to be a more powerful offroad basher than the Rustler. I think if you were to plop some 11.1 lipos in them both the Rustler would be substantially faster,especially if you geared it for speed runs, but the Pede 4x4 is a little beast!

Thank you Kevin for your response. I would have to agree with you, I'm thinking the rusty is more of a top end speed, and the pede more of a get up and go. As far as the 3s lipo, I'm gonna have to pass. I am just now getting back into rc and the 2s lipo is more than enough for me hahaha. Thnx again.