Thread: Newbie. Need help please.

Newbie. Need help please.

I'm totally new to this so forgive me if I ask stupid quesions. I am looking for a RC vehicle for my 14 year old son for Christmas. I want something that he can run on pavement, packed gravel parking lots, and cut grass fields. No heavy offroad stuff, but something that can be run in dirt, or possibly wet grass etc. I want something that has parts available for future repairs and possible upgrades. I was looking to spend around $250 or less for vehicle, battery and radio, but may be willing to go to $300 if necessary. I have looked at some of the traxxis vehicles and they seem pretty nice, but have a couple of questions.

1. Truck, monster truck, or buggy.

2. Brushed or brushless motors. I read that brushed motors require more maintenance, but how much and how difficult.

3. 2wd or 4wd. I read that 4wd is easier to control, but how much so.

There seems to be so many models of the traxxis vehicles available that its confusing what to start with. Any recomendations on specific models would be appreciated. I do not have a hobby store nearby, so online vendor recomendations would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any recomendations.

I think a Stampede 4x4 or Stampede 2wd will meet your standards. Low price, durable, and kind of a monster truck.

You should go with the Traxxas Slash 4x4! It's durable with many possible upgrades and pretty cheap too. I've put mine basically through hell with only stripped gears once in a while. Great for beginners too with not a lot of matenence!

There are no stupid questions when you're looking to spend $250 or more on something you know very little about

I have neither the Slash nor the Stampede (both are great RC's).