Thread: Help with an old Traxxas Rustler

Help with an old Traxxas Rustler

Okay, so I have one of the old Traxxas Rustler's that a friend gave to me a couple years back. Its been sitting in the garage for a while now, I haven't used it much at all. I'm really new at RC cars and I need to know what needs to be done to fix it up. The motor sounds very choppy and I don't know if its performing to its fullest (I doubt it is). I need help on deciding what new engine I need to buy, and if i need to replace my 1500 mAh and 2000 mAh 7.2v NiCd batteries.

Here is everything I have:

Old Traxxas Rustler
    Old version of the Traxxas Stinger 20-turn brushed motor
    1500 and 2000 mAh 7.2v NiCd batteries
    And all the old parts (probably original parts) in the Rustler
    Hobbico 905 AC/DC Multi-Charger

So my question is: what motor should I get to replace it, or should i replace it at all? If I get a new motor, should I get new batteries? If I do get new batteries, will my Hobbico 905 AC/DC Multi-Charger be able to charge them? In the manual I found online it only lists charge times for 1700 mAh batteries and under, so I have no idea if it can charge more powerful batteries. So will I need a new charger too?

Any help will be appreciated, I've done lots of research on all this but still would love some professional input on what I should do. I don't have a bunch of extra money either so try and keep it cheap.

Thanks a bunch,
    Baynes

Actually I've thought of something, does anyone know if I'd be able to just get a lot of the parts from my the new traxxas rustler and put them in my current car?