Thread: New to rc cars and forum questions about traxxas slash 4x4

T2h_68

New to rc cars and forum questions about traxxas slash 4x4

Hello I am new to the hobby and picked up a new traxxas slash 4x4 yesterday for my son (self lol). Any tips on battery maintenance charging ect would be appreciated. Here's my Main question though....after purchasing the truck and quick charger and an Orion 4500 mah battery (with adapter to traxxas connector) I have been getting varying run times and power levels. When I ran the truck today the adapter and battery connector on the Orion battery completely melted down and almost caught fire. So I took the battery back and exchanged for a racers edge 5000mah. No problem right? Well I get it home and the truck would not run. So I take it back to the shop and apparently it also fried the speed control module. Has anyone had this happen to them. Did I make a big noob mistake that would cause this? They replaces it free of charge but I still have varying run times and power levels with new battery and module. What am I doing here lol. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. And if I am going about this the wrong way on the forum please don't flame me